July 13, 2022

Dear Members of Congress:

We the undesigned executives, representing companies in the electronics manufacturing industry, strongly support H.R. 7677, the *Supporting American Printed Circuit Boards Act*, which was recently introduced by Representatives Anna Eshoo and Blake Moore.

This bill would spur the domestic manufacturing of printed circuit boards (PCBs) by incentivizing purchases of domestically produced PCBs as well as industry investments in factories, equipment, workforce training, and research and development. Some of the provisions of the bill are modeled on the kinds of support provided to the closely related semiconductor sector under the CHIPS for America Act of 2021.

We believe this legislation is critical to support the U.S. PCB sector and the broader electronics ecosystem because PCBs are a critical component of the electronics ecosystem and are as integral to electronics as semiconductors. Electronic systems simply cannot function without PCBs.

Despite the importance of PCBs to electronic systems, the United States has lost its historic dominance in the PCB global market. A recent <u>report</u> published by IPC noted that since 2000, the nation's share of global PCB production has fallen from over 30 percent to just four percent, with China now dominating the sector at around 50 percent. Only four of the top 20 electronics manufacturing services (EMS) companies are based in the United States. The report emphasized that any loss of access to nondomestic sources of PCBs would be "catastrophic." Furthermore, a 2018 Department of Commerce <u>report</u> characterized the PCB sector as "dying on the vine," and the Department's February 2022 <u>Assessment of the Critical Supply Chains Supporting the Information and Communication Technology</u> <u>Industry</u> noted the same supply chain risks.

H.R. 7677 will stimulate critical investments in PCB research and manufacturing in the United States. Specifically, the bill provides both tax and direct financial incentives that will spur domestic production and increase access to this critical electronic component, which will ease an already strained U.S. supply chain and improve national security.

We hope to see you listed as a cosponsor as we continue to urge support for this bill.

Sincerely,

Limor Fried Founder and Engineer Adafruit Industries

John Yacoub CEO Advanced Circuits

Larry J. Shank President AE Techron Jason Spera CEO Aegis Software

Al Ridilla President & CEO AGY Holding Corp.

Bob Daul President Allen Woods & Associates Stephen Altschuler Chairman Altek Electronics, Inc.

David T. Lepley President Altronic LLC

Anaya Vardya President & CEO American Standard Circuits

Kurt D. Whitcomb General Manager Amphenol Printed Circuits

John Stine VP Operations APCT

Michael Goeringer President Arc-Tronics, Inc.

Brad Foster President Arlon EMD

Christopher E. Kalmus, PhD President Aurora Circuits

Bob Huffine CEO Axiom Electronics

Stephen Garcia President Bay Area Circuits

David Price Partner BorntoRoute

Stephen Vairo President/CEO Calumet Electronics Corp. **Richard Lies** CEO Chemcut

Steven E. Holzman CEO Colonial Electronic Manufacturers

Timothy Estes Founder & CTO Conductor Analysis Technologies, Inc.

Asaf Jivilik VP of Marketing Cybord

Sharon Dietrich President CYGNUS AUTOMATION INC.

Jeffrey H. Grayless President / CEO Del Tech

Gary Delserro President Delserro Engineering

Michael Coll COO Denkai America

Anthony Faraci President DIS Inc

Dr. Rakesh Kumar Vice President of Technology Specialty Coating Systems, Inc.

Nilesh S. Naik President Eagle Circuits

Cory Steeby President EBW Electronics Alexander Hamp Sec/Treas Electronic Manufacturing Services Group Inc

John Jarvie President Equipment Sales Southeast

Robert Curran Owner Evolutions Hub dba AMTI Products

Sav Patel President Excell Electronics Corporation

David M. Stollsteimer President Flexible Circuits, Inc.

Tom Hauge President Fusion EMS

Britt Smith President Garland Service Company

Robert E. Gray Chief Technology Officer Global interconnect Inc.

Heiko Ehrenberg Managing Director / CEO GOEPEL Electronics LLC

Michael W. Hinshaw, Jr. Chief Executive Officer Green Circuits

James H. Dabney CEO HDA Technology, Inc.

Marc Peo President Heller Industries Inc. Jerry Hughes President Hughes Circuits, Inc.

Burke Desautels President IEP

Patrick Redfern President & CEO Insulectro

Daniel Vanaken President IPTE LLC

Travis D. Kelly President & Chief Executive Officer Isola Group LLC

Gi Dong Kim President ISU Petasys Corp.

Rollins L. Janetos President Janco Electronics Inc.

Bill Astle President Juki Americas

Kunal Shah President LILOTREE

Alfred J. Freire Owner LM Instruments

Derek Wall CEO LOUVERS INTERNATIONAL INC

Stephan Schmidt President LPKF Laser & Electronics North America Christopher Church Chief Product Officer MacroFab, Inc.

Daniel Schmidt President McGregor and Associates Inc

Sean Patterson Chief Revenue Officer Nano Dimension

Rajendrakumar (Roger) Patel CEO National Technology, Inc.

Jim Owens Principal Nautilus Defense

Daniel L. A. Orban President Orban Microwave, Inc.

Randy Ryan VP Marketing Oupiin America, Inc.

Allison Budvarson COO Out of the Box Manufacturing

Jennifer Soule President OWC

Mike Wallace CEO Perfect Company

Eric Winkler CEO POSITIVE OPTIONS, LLC

David K. Seay Owner/President ProActive Process Solutions Group, LLC Jerry J. Huang CEO Professionalized Products & Services Inc (PPSI)

Richard Otte President and Chief Executive Officer Promex Industries Inc.

Melanie Bera Anderson CEO PRO-TECH INTERCONNECT SOLUTIONS LLC

Dave Ryder President Prototron Circuits

Curt E. Mitchell President PWB Advisory, L.L.C.

Tom Tamburrini CEO Radian Laser Systems, LLC

Harry Moser President Reshoring Initiative

Bruce D. Hoechner President and Chief Executive Officer Rogers Corporation

Gerard O'Brien President S T and S Group

Jure Sola Chairman & CEO Sanmina Corporation

Sepehr Babazadeh Owner SepElectronics LLC.

Josh Lee President Silver State Wire & Cable Inc Steven J. VanderZwaag Director Engineering & Electronics Business Unit Smart Vision Lights

Dale Sutaria President SMG GLOBAL CIRCUITS INC

Dustin Green President SMTNW, Inc.

Alicia Bormann President Standard Printed Circuits, Inc.

David E. Raby President/CEO STI Electronics, Inc.

Shane Whiteside President & CEO Summit Interconnect

Terry Lee Heilman CEO Sunstone Circuits LLC

Arthur Burgos President Taurus Products Inc.

Ian Hemmings President TCT Circuit Supply

Frank G. Medina President & CEO Technica USA

Cassandra W. Gluyas Chief Executive Officer Thomas Instrumentation Inc.

Melanie Bera Anderson Owner TRC Circuits Inc **Thomas T. Edman** CEO TTM Technologies Inc.

Joe Sanghani VP Operation U S Circuit, Inc.

Ramesh Patel President UNITED ELECTRONICS CORP

Joseph Kittner President Update Systems

Mark Eonta President/CEO Uyemura International Corporation

John Shepard Founder Exec Chair VAe d/b/a STRAC Institute

Robert Canepa Private Investor Ventures in Electronics Manufacturing

Rob Bargo Vice President of Operations Videon labs

Walter Phillips CEO WANSCO, LLC

Jeff Wurzbach CEO Wurzbach Electronics, Inc.

Christopher J. Reddy President Xanfab Inc

Steve Pudles President Chief Executive Officer Zentech Manufacturing, Inc.